Check out the animated show Bat out of Hell on Kickstarter!

Master of Wednesday Night

3844725

Over at Wiseblood they’re bringing out yet another book this month, The Master of Wednesday Night by F J Rocca. Here’s the description:

In the tradition of Henry James, Master of Wednesday Night is the story of Eduard Vitolt-Bartholdy, an intransigent old-school European musician, devoted to his art, and Jeffreys Barthel, a brash, young, American pragmatist with a talent for self-promotion. Will youth triumph over wisdom, profession over art, money over music, so-called realpolitik over authentic genius? In probing this question, Master of Wednesday Night moves from the immediate conflict between innocence and experience back through the tragic history of Europe during the first half of the 20th Century. The young Barthel is forced to interrogate his own “success” in light of this moving meditation on the Maestro’s long life, narrated by Viktor Kaminsky, the valet who has known it all.

From excerpts (available here), it sounds to me like Vitolt-Bartholdy is my kind of conductor. Lots of Kodály and Lutoslawski, I’m sure!

Comments

  1. I’m hesitant to get this one. I mean The Oracles Fell Silent was good, but then I followed that up with Yates’ No Time To Be Lost screenplay and it fell flat. I want to believe in Wiseblood though!

  2. Matthew Lickona says:

    TAGGED WITH: AT LEAST THEY’VE GOT PRODUCT

  3. Angelico Nguyen, Esq., OP says:

    Every time Wiseblood publishes a book, an angel gets its wings.

Speak Your Mind

*